Our Last Year – A Blog from January 1 2012

Screen Shot 2013-01-01 at 2.31.41 PM

I started a Tumblr on the first day of 2012, thinking I’d blog the apocalypse. Well, much like the Mayan prediction, my Tumblr was a bit of a let down. I’ve only recently returned to it, using it as a place to host gifs. This is the first blog I wrote, unedited from it’s original version. I think I’ve changed a lot this year. I hope I can say the same in 2014. 

It was late by the time I finally got out of bed. The morning shower had already come and everything outside was unseasonably bright. I took a very long bath in a very French bathtub, it was fantastic.

R and P and I took a walk through the graveyard after a very long post-noon breakfast. One of P’s friends called to us from his front lawn as we walked towards the old mill. Several mean looking Mexicans were standing around a boiling pot of fish parts, someone handed me a bud light. A conversation was had, in a strange mixture of French and Spanish. I shook hands with someone who’s name I can’t remember before leaving with R an P. We spent a few moments exploring the mill, the apocalypse happened there years ago.

The high today was in the 60s and, at times, I was comfortable to sit outside in a short sleeved shirt. On Wednesday the temperature won’t go above freezing. This is obviously the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

