Strange Mercies – An Adaptation

I’m very interested in adaptations. I think the work of translating one medium into another is always interesting and usually worth experiencing. Last year a good friend of mine adapted a short story I had written. It’s the first time I’ve ever been involved with anything like that, and it was a pretty cool experience. I handed the short story to him and then walked away, making it a point to be uninvolved in the translation. In the end, I think it was a smart choice, because I likely would have tried to ruin everything.

But hey, I’m awful.

If you’re interested, here’s the short story that inspired the following film. It’s one of my favorites, though it’s something I still consider unfinished.

If you’re familiar with the term “Strange Mercy,” then you probably know it came from Annie Clark’s most recent “St. Vincent” album. Do yourself a favor and listen to the song that inspired the short story (that inspired the short film).

Strange Mercies from John Cotton on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

